Designing Instagram Ads for Max Effort Muscle

Eddie Williams
4 min readJun 3, 2021

Max Effort Muscle is an Ohio-based company that provides clean supplements to fuel your workouts and help you jump levels. But what makes them different from any other supplement company? The community.

Owner Corey Gregory and his team work overtime to build a platform that engages customers on a daily basis even when they aren’t looking to buy. They release articles regularly on mindset training, engage with their customers on social media, and put out great professional content. My personal favorite is Corey G’s #Lungeeveryday where the goal is to lunge 400m every day. You can often see followers and fans sharing photos and videos of themselves getting their lunges in.

So what could I do?

Of the athletes on the Max Effort team, I knew and followed a lot of them and my Instagram feed was full of workout pages and supplement ads. My Instagram feed was practically begging for a company like this but I still had not found Max Effort. But once a friend enlightened me, I was hooked.

With such a great platform and such a great product, Max Effort only needs to reach more people. So this week I created Instagram ads designed to help them reach more people like me.

Creating the ads

Max Effort doesn’t focus their media on their products, they get customers to buy into the company and its ideas which then leads to sales. So in that effort to not advertise the product I directed this week to spread one of their contests, #IWANTABS2021.

I used Canva to design and put together the ads and I used Media Modifier to put them into a mock Instagram post. To post and monitor the success of the ads I used MailChimp.

Here are my designs!

1st Post

Goal: As most people don’t act on most ads the goal of this one was just to get an ad out there so viewers can familiarize themselves with seeing the company name and Logo.

It was made to be plain and simple but get across two things. I wanted to get the logo on there in the center and I wanted to emphasize the bottom portion, “10 Places, 10 Prizes, and 1 Rolex”. Without overloading them with too much information I gave them enough reason to maybe press that Learn More button.

Although conversions would be great this one was just an appetizer.

2nd Post

This string of 4 posts was created be in this order on an Instagram post.

Goal: This first picture was meant to be simple and entice the viewer to swipe and learn more. As looking through an ad requires very little commitment a simple cliffhanger like “Drumroll Please…” will be enough for a viewer to swipe.

Goal: This page was made to simply say the challenge is here, and quickly flash the main prize. I wanted this one to be a quick and easy read to tell the viewer just a little bit more about the challenge and keep them interested and swiping.

Goal: Although this one has more writing most viewers will only shortly glance over the number. And will instead be drawn down to the bottom where it says “Want to Play?” and “Swipe to learn more…”. Again this one was meant to inform a little bit more about the exciting part of the contest and get them to swipe again.

Caption: Who’s gonna win it! Start sending them in!

Caption: Who’s gonna win it! Start sending them in!

Goal: After looking through the first 3, this slide feels like a big reveal to the viewer. They finally see what the contest is about. This slide is a quick rundown of the contest.

I started out by asking a question that gets the viewer thinking “What can you do in 12 weeks?”, this also explains how long the contest is. In the middle, I used two pictures to show what the submission is supposed to be. I put down the submission due date. Then ended it with a usual Max Effort statement, “Then get to work!!”.

--

--